Where to Sell Digital Products for Free in 2026: Sellfy vs Freewebstore vs Shopify Digital Products

Where to Sell Digital Products for Free in 2026: Sellfy vs Freewebstore vs Shopify Digital Products

Where to sell digital products for free in 2026, and why the definition of free matters

Anyone searching where to sell digital products for free is usually trying to solve a very specific problem: start selling quickly, avoid upfront costs, and keep as much revenue as possible. Fair enough. But in 2026, “free” in ecommerce rarely means the same thing across platforms. Sometimes it means a time limited trial. Sometimes it means a £0 monthly plan with a platform fee on each sale. And sometimes it means the selling tool is free, but the underlying store plan is not.

That is exactly what the latest platform messaging makes clear. Sellfy positions its store builder as creator first, with a 14 day free trial and a strong claim of zero transaction fees. Freewebstore goes in the opposite direction, it leans hard into “free forever”, with no card and no trial countdown, but it openly funds that model with a 2.5% platform fee on the free plan. Shopify, meanwhile, offers a free Digital Products app, but it sits inside a Shopify store, which has a monthly cost on standard plans. So the news event here is not a single product launch, it is a very visible divergence in how major players pitch “free” selling in 2026, and what they choose to charge for.

A content creator setting up an online store on a laptop.

This guide compares Sellfy, Freewebstore, and Shopify’s Digital Products app through the lens of one question: where to sell digital products for free without getting caught out later. It focuses on what the source material explicitly states, and it calls out the gaps where the marketing is loud but the detail is thin.

The 2026 development: platforms double down on “free” positioning, but with very different trade offs

Sellfy’s current positioning is built around speed and creator friendliness. It highlights “Launch your store and sell things you make with zero transaction fees”, “No coding required”, and “Start for free”, with a 14 days free trial and no card required. It also foregrounds scale and social proof, stating it is “Trusted by 75K+ creators and businesses who’ve earned $165M+ with Sellfy”. That is a big number, and it is doing a lot of work in the pitch. But the key point for anyone focused on free selling is this: Sellfy’s “free” is a trial, not a permanent free plan, at least based on the provided material.

Freewebstore’s message is more blunt. It claims “Free forever, since 2007” and says it has helped “over a million people open their first store since 2007”. It also provides a specific store count: 1,008,935 stores started. Unlike Sellfy, it does not frame free as a trial. It frames free as a business model, and it explains the catch in plain language: the free Community plan is funded by a 2.5% platform fee on each sale. And it claims that fee drops to 0.5% on paid plans, with optional paid plans “from £15/month”.

Shopify’s contribution to this “free” conversation is more technical, but still important. Shopify’s Help Centre states that Shopify has a free Digital Products app that lets merchants sell digital products by uploading files or adding links from supported providers. The app itself is free. But the source material also references Shopify plan pricing elsewhere only indirectly via Freewebstore’s comparison table, which lists “Shopify Basic $29/month”. The practical implication is straightforward: Shopify can be a great digital delivery engine, but it is not, on the evidence provided, the cheapest route to “free” selling.

Platform profiles: who these tools are built for, and what they actually offer

Sellfy is clearly aimed at creators who want an all in one storefront with marketing baked in. The product list reads like a creator economy checklist: sell eBooks, music, videos, designs, and more, plus subscriptions, physical products, and print on demand. It also highlights operational convenience, such as an express checkout that supports PayPal, Stripe, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and cards. And it leans into support, claiming help is available 24/7. The emphasis is not just on hosting files, it is on converting an audience into buyers.

Freewebstore is positioned as the simplest possible on ramp for a first store, with a promise of a live store in about ten minutes. It includes free hosting and SSL, payments via Stripe, PayPal, and Apple Pay, and it pushes an AI angle: “AI product copy and SEO” plus an “AI design editor” called Flex that generates a theme based on store name, products, and vibe. It also claims unlimited products and unlimited bandwidth. The pitch is that the fiddly bits are handled, and the seller just sells. But the platform fee is the price of admission on the free plan.

A small business owner setting up an online store on a laptop

Shopify’s Digital Products app is not a standalone store builder. It is a component inside Shopify that handles fulfilment of digital assets. The Help Centre material is unusually specific on mechanics: files and links are treated as “assets”, the app has sections for Dashboard, Orders, and Settings, and sellers can customise email templates and configure checkout download options. It also sets a clear file upload limit: 5 GB maximum file size, with no bandwidth limit for downloads. And it lists supported link providers, including Notion, Calendly, Kajabi, Teachable, Thinkific, Google Drive, Dropbox, Canva, YouTube, Vimeo, and Figma. That level of specificity matters if the “digital product” is actually access to something hosted elsewhere.

Where to sell digital products for free: pricing models, fees, and the real cost of “£0”

This is the section most people care about, because it is where “free” either holds up or falls apart. Based on the source material, Sellfy offers a 14 day free trial with no card required. It also claims “No transaction fees ever.” That is a strong statement, but it sits alongside a pricing snippet that shows “Total costs from $22/mo” for Sellfy. In other words, Sellfy’s model appears to be subscription led rather than commission led, with free access limited to a trial period.

Freewebstore is the clearest “free forever” option in the material. It explicitly states the Community plan is genuinely free, with no credit card and no trial. But it also states the platform takes a 2.5% platform fee per sale on free stores. That is not a hidden cost, it is the core of the model. The platform also says optional paid plans start from £15/month and reduce the platform fee to 0.5%. So the decision becomes a maths problem: is it better to pay nothing monthly and give up 2.5% of revenue, or pay a monthly fee to keep more of each sale?

Shopify’s Digital Products app is free, but the store is not described as free in the provided Shopify material. Freewebstore’s comparison table lists Shopify Basic at $29/month. That is not necessarily the full story of Shopify pricing in 2026, but it is the only explicit number in the sources. The key point is that Shopify’s “free” is at the app layer, not at the store layer. For someone searching where to sell digital products for free, that distinction is make or break.

Dimension Sellfy Freewebstore Shopify Digital Products
Free access 14 days free trial, no card required Free forever Community plan, no card, no trial App is free, store plan cost not described in Shopify source
Monthly cost (from sources) From $22 per month £0 per month on free plan, paid plans from £15 per month Shopify Basic shown as $29 per month in Freewebstore comparison
Platform fee per sale Claims zero transaction fees 2.5% on free plan, 0.5% on paid plans Not specified in Shopify Digital Products source

Features and fulfilment: file limits, subscriptions, and what “digital product” really means

Digital selling is not just “upload file, take money”. The devil is in fulfilment, access control, and how the platform handles edge cases. Shopify’s Digital Products documentation is strongest on this. It explains that digital assets can be files, links, or both, and that sellers can attach multiple files per variant, including archive formats like .zip. It also states that there is no bandwidth limit for downloads, and that sellers can set download limits per customer. For higher value products, that download limit control is not a nice to have, it is basic risk management.

Shopify also addresses mixed baskets. If a product has a physical and digital component, the digital file can be fulfilled automatically, while physical fulfilment depends on the store’s physical fulfilment settings. That is the kind of operational detail that matters once a business grows beyond a single PDF. And it lists supported providers for link based products, which is a subtle but important constraint. If a seller’s content lives on a provider not on the list, the workflow may not fit.

Sellfy, by contrast, sells the breadth of its creator toolkit. It explicitly supports digital products like eBooks, music, videos, and designs, and it states a file size limit of up to 20GB per file, which is materially higher than Shopify’s 5 GB limit. That single line changes the equation for video creators, large design packs, and high resolution assets. Sellfy also pushes subscriptions, with weekly, monthly, or yearly plans and automatic payments. That is a different business model, and it is often where creators end up if they want predictable revenue.

Freewebstore’s feature story is more about storefront creation and distribution. It claims sellers can sell on Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok, and it includes AI product copy and SEO. It does not, in the provided material, specify digital file size limits or download controls. That does not mean they do not exist, it just means the source material does not say. For a buyer deciding where to sell digital products for free, that absence is a signal: Freewebstore is selling simplicity and zero upfront cost, not deep digital fulfilment detail.

An entrepreneur setting up an online store on a laptop
Feature Sellfy Freewebstore Shopify Digital Products
Max file size (stated) Up to 20GB per file Not stated in provided material 5 GB maximum file size
Delivery method Digital downloads (implied), checkout and payments highlighted Storefront and payments highlighted Files and supported provider links as assets
Subscriptions Weekly, monthly, yearly subscription products Not stated in provided material Not described in provided material for the app

Marketing and growth: social selling, SEO, and what platforms prioritise in 2026

One of the more interesting shifts in 2026 is that “where to sell” is increasingly “where to market”. The storefront is table stakes. The differentiator is how quickly a creator can get traffic and convert it. Sellfy leans hard into this. It explicitly lists marketing automation tools: affiliate marketing, email marketing, SEO, and product upselling. It also highlights selling on social platforms, including Instagram, Pinterest, YouTube, and TikTok. The message is clear: Sellfy wants to be the hub that turns attention into revenue, without bolting on a dozen separate tools.

Freewebstore also leans into social selling, stating sellers can sell on Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok, and it mentions Google Shopping among integrations. But its standout marketing claim is the built in “AI product copy and SEO”. That is not exactly groundbreaking in 2026, but it is still useful for small sellers who freeze when faced with writing product descriptions. And its Flex AI design editor is positioned as a shortcut to a polished storefront, which matters more than people like to admit. A clunky store kills trust, and trust kills conversion.

Shopify’s Digital Products app documentation is not a marketing pitch. It is operational guidance. That is both a strength and a weakness. The strength is clarity: sellers know what the app does, where to manage orders, and how fulfilment behaves. The weakness is that anyone looking for a free, creator friendly growth engine will not find it in this specific material. Shopify’s broader ecosystem may provide it, but it is not in the sources, so it cannot be assumed here.

The bigger industry point is this: platforms are increasingly bundling marketing features into the commerce layer, because acquisition costs are the real pain. A “free” store that cannot generate sales is not free, it is just idle.

Pros and cons: a practical view for creators, side hustlers, and small businesses

Choosing where to sell digital products for free is really choosing which compromise is least painful. Time limited free access can be fine if the platform earns its keep quickly. A permanent free plan with a fee can be perfect if sales are low or unpredictable. And a paid platform with a free app can be the right call if the business needs operational control and expects to scale.

The lists below stick to what is supported by the source material, and they focus on the decision points that actually change outcomes: fees, limits, speed to launch, and growth tooling.

Sellfy: Pros

  • Zero transaction fees claimed, which can matter once volume grows.
  • 14 day free trial with no card required, useful for testing quickly.
  • Large file support stated at up to 20GB per file.
  • Creator focused monetisation, including subscription products with automatic payments.
  • Marketing tools highlighted, including affiliate marketing, email marketing, SEO, and upselling.

Sellfy: Cons

  • Not free forever based on the stated 14 day trial framing.
  • Monthly cost is shown as from $22 per month, which may be a barrier for early stage sellers.
  • Some pricing and plan boundaries are not detailed in the provided material, so sellers may need to validate what is included before committing.

Freewebstore: Pros

  • Free forever Community plan, no credit card, no trial countdown.
  • Clear transparency on how it is funded, a 2.5% platform fee per sale on free stores.
  • Scale claims, including 1,008,935 stores started since 2007.
  • Built in AI for product copy and SEO, plus AI assisted design via Flex.
  • Unlimited products stated, which removes a common early ceiling.

Freewebstore: Cons

  • Platform fee on every sale at 2.5% on the free plan, which can become expensive at higher revenue.
  • Digital fulfilment specifics, such as file size limits and download controls, are not stated in the provided material.
  • Export tools are mentioned as coming with paid plans, but the details are cut off in the provided text, so portability needs checking.

Shopify Digital Products app: Pros

  • Free app for digital delivery inside Shopify.
  • Clear fulfilment controls, including download limits and email template customisation.
  • No bandwidth limit for downloads stated in the documentation.
  • Supports file uploads and supported provider links, useful for selling access rather than raw files.

Shopify Digital Products app: Cons

  • Not a free store in the provided material, Shopify Basic is shown as $29 per month in a comparison table.
  • Lower file size limit stated at 5 GB maximum per file.
  • Supported link providers are limited to a defined list, which may not fit every workflow.

Historical context: how “free” ecommerce evolves, and why 2026 feels like a turning point

Freewebstore’s “since 2007” claim is not just a brag, it is a reminder that free ecommerce is not new. What is new is the intensity of competition around creators and micro businesses. In the late 2000s, free store builders often competed on templates and basic carts. In 2026, they compete on AI assisted design, social selling integrations, and how quickly a seller can get from idea to checkout.

Sellfy’s emphasis on creators and marketing automation reflects the creator economy’s maturation. The platform is not just selling a shopfront, it is selling a business system. The $165M+ earned figure and the 75,000+ creators claim are used to signal that this is not a toy platform. And the “zero transaction fees” message is a direct shot at older marketplace models that skim a percentage of every sale.

Shopify’s approach reflects a different trajectory. It is not trying to be free at the store level in the provided material. It is trying to be dependable, configurable, and scalable. The Digital Products app documentation reads like infrastructure, not hype. That matters because as digital products become more sophisticated, sellers care about fulfilment behaviour, mixed physical and digital orders, and access control. In other words, the boring stuff that keeps refunds down.

The comparison also highlights a broader industry truth: “free” is increasingly a pricing strategy, not a product category. Platforms choose whether to monetise via subscription, commission, or ecosystem lock in. Sellers choose which pain they can live with.

An ecommerce warehouse with workers packing orders

Where to sell digital products for free: decision framework and use case recommendations

There is no single best answer to where to sell digital products for free, because “free” is not one thing. The right choice depends on whether the seller is optimising for cash flow, margin, or operational control. And it depends on what is being sold. A 200 MB template pack is not the same as a 12 GB video course.

For a true zero upfront cost launch, Freewebstore is the most literal match to the keyword intent. It states free forever, no card, no trial. The trade off is the 2.5% platform fee on each sale. For a seller testing demand, that is often a good deal. Paying nothing until revenue exists is psychologically and financially easier. But once sales become consistent, the seller should do the maths on whether moving to a paid plan, with a lower 0.5% fee, makes sense.

For creators who already have an audience and want a more complete monetisation toolkit, Sellfy’s model is different. It is not free forever, but it is designed to convert. The large file limit, subscription support, and marketing automation features are all signals that Sellfy expects sellers to run a real business, not just list a file. If the seller can make the platform pay for itself quickly, the monthly cost may be a sensible trade for zero transaction fees and a more integrated workflow.

For sellers who need robust fulfilment controls and link based delivery, Shopify’s Digital Products app is compelling on features, but it is not positioned as a free selling route in the provided sources. It is better understood as a professional option where the app cost is not the issue, the store plan cost is. If the business already runs on Shopify, the app is an obvious add. If the business is starting from scratch and the goal is strictly free, Shopify is harder to justify on the evidence presented here.

The Verdict: the best place to sell digital products for free, depending on what “free” means

If the question is strictly, literally, where to sell digital products for free with no time limit and no card details, Freewebstore is the cleanest answer in the source material. It says free forever, it backs that up with a long operating history since 2007, and it is transparent about the 2.5% platform fee that funds the model. That is not a hidden catch, it is the deal. For early stage sellers, hobbyists, and anyone validating a product idea, it is a practical starting point.

But if “free” is really shorthand for “keep more of each sale once this becomes serious”, Sellfy’s pitch is hard to ignore. A 14 day free trial is not the same as free forever, but the promise of zero transaction fees, plus creator oriented marketing tools and a 20GB per file limit, points to a platform built for momentum. It suits creators who are ready to commit, and who value conversion and automation over a perpetual free plan.

And Shopify? It is the grown up option for fulfilment mechanics. The Digital Products app documentation is detailed, and the ability to sell via files or supported provider links is genuinely useful. But it does not answer the “for free” part unless the seller already pays for Shopify. So the verdict is simple: Freewebstore for genuinely free store access, Sellfy for creator led growth with a trial, Shopify for operational control when a paid store is acceptable. The best choice is the one that matches the seller’s cash flow reality today, and the business they want to be running six months from now.

Share this article

Enjoyed this article?

Subscribe to get articles like this delivered to your inbox.